Pronto Paella

Image

Hi out there! So this is my first time to this whole world of blogging which is pretty exciting stuff. My name is Mia and I’m a bit of a foodie. To say my life mantra is “eat to live” is a bit of an understatement I feel, but if I’m being perfectly honest I love to eat and I love to cook! I’m a huge fan of baking because, well let’s face it, who isn’t a fan of cooking delicious looking sweets and then getting to eat them afterwards! But I also love the savoury stuff. Recently I discovered the whole “clean eating” thing which I try to do as often as possible but a sneaky treat or two never hurt anyone!!

I’m not really a recipe follower as such, but I do like to take inspiration from wherever I can get it and then add my own little spin. Jamie Oliver is one of my absolute all-time favourite chefs and I’ve got about a million of his cookbooks crowding up my room because a girl can never have too much Jamie Oliver. 

I’m hoping to post some of my own recipes on here as well as review the tasty work of the places I eat around Sydney (my hometown) but most of all I’d love to get some new ideas and feedback from anyone else out there who shares a passion for good food.

So now that I’ve introduced myself I thought I’d share one of my favourite dishes, Chicken & Prawn Paella!! I made this for dinner last night and it was an absolute hit with my family. I was so surprised though, as I’ve made this dish a couple of times using different recipes that were way to fiddly or just not tasty enough! But this one (which was a bit of a mush of a few!) turned out great! I’m a huge fan of Spanish food, but it’s not something I get to cook a lot so when i get the chance i jump at it (I also happened to find some chorizo in the fridge which I’m fairly certain was a sign from the food gods that it was Paella time!). I used a Paella pan but you could do it in a regular non-stick pan. Again, I’m not really a measurer of quantities so you’ll have to bear with me but here’s what I used:

1 Onion (diced)

1/2 Red Capsicum (sliced thinly)

Paprika

Dried chilli flakes (to your tastes)

2 cups Arborio Rice

White Wine

1 tin diced tomato

Chicken Stock

500g Chicken tenderloins

500g peeled green prawns

2 sticks of chorizo

pinch of Saffron (optional)

Frozen Peas

What I did:

So first brown off your onions, capsicum, chilli and paprika in a little bit of olive oil (make sure they don’t burn just get a nice caramel colour on them). Add your rice and “toast” this for about 2mins (this step helps the rice absorb the liquid later. You should just look for the grains to go a bit translucent) then give a good splash of white wine and add your chorizo. Keep stirring it and add the tin of tomatoes, chicken stock (I used 1L which I added progressively), your chicken tenderloins and half the prawns. You can also add a pinch of saffron now if you’d like. Stir and add more stock for about 20mins or until the rice is nearly cooked. At the end, at the rest of your prawns (I like to scatter them all over the top) and frozen peas and leave the Paella (don’t stir it no matter how much you want to). This is really important as it forms a kind of “crust” on the bottom. Traditionally, I don’t think your supposed to stir it at all but I’ve done that before and it got too burnt on the bottom so I like this way much better. Leaving it at the end seems to get the right balance without it burning. I gave mine 10 mins but just check that your prawns and peas are cooked and voila!! Serve it with a really good squeeze of lemon on top!

As I said my family loved it, so for normal sized eaters I’d say this would feed 6-8 but my hungry family of 4 nearly finished it off! I’m eating the leftovers for lunch today!! Lucky me!

Anyway enough of my ramblings! Hope you enjoy this one as much as I did !

Leave a Reply

