Peking Duck

On Friday night I roasted a duck for dinner and it came out a treat! I’ve tried to cook duck once before and ended up with a disappointing, dry, tasteless duck that took hours of cooking and preparation. After that experience I decided to hang up my duck cooking days and resign myself to the fact that roast duck was only for the professionals. Then mum came home with two frozen ducks from the supermarket because they were “on sale” so it was time to try my hand at it again. This time I did a bit more research and found a whole array of advice and recipes, some of which wanted you to dry the duck out for several hours or use very expensive ingredients in order to get the best results. Of course I knew in this situation that there was only one man I could trust, Jamie Oliver so I headed straight to his website to see how he would roast a duck. I found a fantastic recipe for peking duck pancakes which I altered slightly and it was honestly the yummiest duck I have ever tried. Perfectly cooked, crispy skin and a flavoursome plum sauce! On top of that, I was also left with a good cup of duck fat which I strained and have now frozen to use later to make duck fat roast potatoes!! Yum!Image

I’m attaching the link for Jamie’s recipe, because its obviously not my own although I did make a few variations on the plum sauce which I will include here. The recipe is so so simple to make though, so I would very much recommend it. My dad, who hates duck even went back for seconds!! I served my duck with brown rice fried rice and steamed asian vegetables! Next time I would like to give the pancake part a go! So here it is, my variations on Jamie’s plum sauce!!

What I used:

6 Fresh Plums (skin on)

Zest of 1 orange

4 tsp sugar

1 Cinnamon Quill

3 Star Anise

pinch of Chinese 5 spice

pinch of dried chilli (to taste)

3 tbs soy sauce

splash of water

What I did:

De-stone and dice your plums (keep them in fairly large chunks). Then put all the ingredients into a saucepan. Bring it to the boil and then turn the heat down to a simmer. Let the sauce cook away for about 15 minutes or until the plums soften and the sauce reduces down to make a nice shiny, sticky consistency. Make sure you taste it so that you’ve got a nice balance of flavours. If you need to, add more sugar or chilli. This will depend on how sweet your plums are. Pour into a serving dish and spoon generously over the cooked duck!

Image

Hope you enjoy this one as much as I did! Will certainly be making this one again!!

http://www.jamieoliver.com/recipes/duck-recipes/crispy-peking-duck-in-pancakes

Leave a Reply

