Overnight Blueberry Oats

ImageI’ve recently discovered the power of overnight oats (took me long enough!) and just had to share it with everyone. Breakfast has never usually been my favourite meal of the day (as a kid I hated cereal so I used to eat leftovers from dinner) but it is most certainly the most important. I can’t skip breakfast, ever and without a nice filling one I find it really hard to concentrate throughout the day. I should probably also mention that I get really grumpy when I’m hungry so probably best to avoid that whenever I can!

I really love the concept of overnight oats because they really are the simplest thing ever. You literally put everything in a bowl the night before, pop it in the fridge and in the morning when you wake up you’re presented with a creamy refreshing breakfast. I had always thought that overnight oats would be like eating cold porridge (could there be anything worse!) but I was so pleasantly surprised. Its nothing like porridge but more like a really creamy breakfast pudding, which is great because its nice and refreshing on these hot Summer mornings. On top of all of these great things is the fact that you can put whatever you like into/on top of it and it will always taste delish! I tried adding a bit of granola (see my cinnamon granola post from earlier) and some banana chips for extra crunch. Nutritionally, Oats have been linked to lowering cholesterol and are also low GI which means that their energy is released more slowly, keeping you feeling fuller for longer!

So here it is, my recipe for Overnight Blueberry Oats

What you need:

1/3 cup oats

1/2 cup soy milk (or milk of your choosing)

small handful of blueberries, sunflower seeds and pepita seeds

Cinnamon

Nutmeg

What I did:

1. Combine all of your ingredients in a bowl (I haven’t put quantities for the cinnamon or nutmeg as you should add them to your taste. Be sparing with the nutmeg as its quite strong). Stir with a spoon and put in the fridge overnight.

2. In the morning, add some extra milk if you need it and top with extra berries, banana chips, nuts or homemade granola (whatever you fancy really).

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

